Mainpage The Ministry and the administrative sector

The Ministry directs Finnish educational and cultural policy

The Finnish Government consists of 12 ministries. Each ministry is responsible for the preparation of matters and for the proper functioning of administration within its remit. Ministries’ mandates are laid down in the Government Rules of Procedure and their duties in decrees issued on the ministries.

Within the Government, the Ministry of Education and Culture is responsible for developing education, science, cultural, sport youth policies, and international cooperation in these fields. The mandate of the Ministry of Education and Culture covers:

  • day care, education, training and research;
  • the arts, culture, sport and youth work; 
  • the archival, museum and public library systems;
  • the Evangelical Lutheran Church, the Orthodox Church and other religious communities;
  • student financial aid;
  • copyright.

Leadership of the Ministry

The Minister of Education and Culture, Ms Sanni Grahn-Laasonen  is responsible for matters covered by the Ministry of Education and Culture.

Permanent Secretary is responsible for leading, developing and supervising the activities of the Ministry and its administrative sector.

Values of the Ministry of Education and Culture

The Ministry develops conditions for education, know-how, lifelong learning, creativity and citizens' social participation and well-being.

The values underlying this vast sector are civilisation, welfare, democracy and creativity.

Other important principles in the Ministry's operations are expertise, responsibility, openness and future-orientation.

Mainpage The Ministry and the administrative sector